Gmail has launched a handy little feature that will let you cancel any emails that you send by mistake up to 30 seconds after you have clicked the send button.
Users of Google’s “undo send” feature will get a cancellation option of 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds to retrieve misdirected emails.
The news will answer the prayers of those prone to sending rashly worded missives, unintentionally hitting “reply all”, or sending typo-laden messages.
The option is disabled by default, so you will need to login to your Gmail account, go to settings and enable it.
After an email has been dispatched, a thin yellow bar will appear at the top of the screen, giving users the chance to cancel its delivery.
The feature has actually been offered by Gmail for several years, but only to users enrolled in its “experimental labs” programme.
The tool works only when emails are sent from laptops, it is yet to work for tablets or smartphones.